25thJuly09 7.45am – 9.10am

28 07 2009

 

Went for our second seagrass monitoring on 25th July, Saturday. We started early in the morning at 7.45am, and had to climb over the fence since the gate to the beach was not open. The tide receded to a -0.1, so we could see a lot of things we couldn’t see very clearly last time, such as the patches of thalassia which stretched unusually far out.

lab park low tide- 7.55am low tide!

Monitoring went much faster this time, as we split the work among us, and so got the work done in a jiffy. On top of that, the grey skies forewarned the storm, so we were motivated to work faster. Fortunately, there was only a slight drizzle which we managed to work through. We finished ahead of time, giving us an opportunity to explore the rest of the beach, and observe more of its interesting flora and fauna.

Also, we collected 9kg of rubbish, even though the beach was relatively clean. We classified the rubbish according to plastics, glass, metal and others. Here are some pictures:

 1 year old coral!

 

a newly formed coral (which will grow around 2cm per year!) So we shouldn’t break off coral because to form a large coral it takes a very long time.

 

sucking anemone!

 

the anemone which sucks onto the finger! (it’s actually stinging us, but we have thick skin (: )

 

 brown algae with air sacs

 

brown algae with air sacs (sargassum) which help them stay upright when the tide is higher.

 

 

 no rubbish today!

 

the relatively clean beach

 

us and the rubbish 2

 

us and the rubbish we collected!

 

till next time!

Grace, Zenia and Yifeng

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 07 2013
Source

I do not even know how I ended up here, but I
thought this post was good. I do not know who you
are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger
if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

23 02 2014
http://www.shylokshairandbeauty.co.uk

Hey I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Bing for something
else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also
love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the
minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time
I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome jo.

7 03 2014
Tabitha

Howdy this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use
WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.

I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
Any help would be enormously appreciated!

Leave a Reply

